About

Hello, we are Laura and Bekah...the writers behind Suburban Garden Life. We met through our county's Master Gardener program and became friends over cups of coffee and talking about our favorite plants. We each live in the suburbs and know the joys and challenges that come with gardening on smaller lots, and we love it. Our goal here at Suburban Garden Life is to share information about different types of gardening as it pertains to suburban landscaping. We will do our best to share only information that is research based and helpful to others gardening on the smaller scale. We are excited you are here!


Meet Your Fellow Suburban Gardeners:

Laura - 

I'm a lifelong DIY gardener. My favorite place to be is puttering in my garden with my 200 pound Great Dane, Barnaby. I work as a garden educator and volunteer with the Master Gardener program and serve on the board of the Hardy Plant Society of Oregon. I'm also an avid cook and love to eat the fresh produce out of my vegetable garden.    




Bekah - 




Throughout the year, you will find me working in my garden: planting, pruning, weeding (when will it ever stop?!?), and just generally enjoying the beauty of the outside world. Sometimes our garden antics can raise an eyebrow from our neighbors, like tearing out the front lawn or keeping chickens, but overall they take it in stride. A delivery of eggs or freshly baked bread seems to keep smiles on their faces. 



While I love being out in my garden, it's not the only place I spend my time. For the last eight years, I have been serving in our community as a Master Gardener. I have been an avid quilter and crafter for most of my life.  I am also a nut for trying to make something at home instead of buying it at the store. So, you may show up one day and find me attempting to distill rose water from petals gathered in the garden (won't try that again) or canning and preserving a variety of food from the garden.  And while I question people who say they dislike coffee or chocolate, it doesn't stop me from hanging out with them.

Comments